To ensure our school makes rapid progress towards its ambitious aims, an Interim Academy Board (IAB) has been put in place as a short-term change to replace the Local Governing Committee that we would normally have in our Trust schools.

Our Interim Academy Board has been created so that a smaller group of governors can meet more frequently and focus on supporting rapid school improvement, in line with our school development priorities.  The IAB comprises a parent representative, a trustee and an external governor for an additional independent view. 

We are very grateful to our previous governors for their commitment to the school and they will of course be invited to apply to be part of the new governing board when this is established in due course.

Interim Academy Board (IAB)

Dr. Moira Laffey

Dr. Moira Laffey

Chair of LGC & Trust Appointed Member

Moira holds a PhD in Chemistry and undertook research at London and Cambridge universities. After a career in the Civil Service followed by family commitments, she has held a variety of posts in the independent education world including as a Maths teacher and Headteacher. After retirement, she worked on various projects for a well-known consultancy including being the independent chair of complaint and discipline panels for numerous senior and junior schools. Moira is Chair of the IAB at Melksham Oak Community School, Chair of Governors Larkhill Primary School and a White Horse Federation Trustee. Her particular interest is in the teaching of numeracy to those who find the subject daunting.

Sharon Adams

Sharon Adams

Trust Appointed Parent Member

Sharon is an experienced Change and Project Manager and has her own business consultancy, where she supports businesses in defining and executing business strategy to make positive change. In 2017 Sharon joined the governing body at St Georges in Semington as a co-opted Governor, where she supported the school through an intense and effective period of transition. Sharon then joined Melksham Oak in June 2022 having been elected as a parent governor. Sharon is passionate about providing students with the best possible education and opportunities to equip them in their educational journey.

Paul Berry

Paul Berry

Trust Appointed Member

Paul served as a local governor for 9 years at a local primary school and as a Chair of Governors for 5 years. During this time, he built up a strong level of experience as to what effective governance looks like and supported the school during times of uncertainty and transition. He feels privileged to become a trust appointed member of the Interim Academy Board at Melksham Oak Community School. Outside of his voluntary work as a governor, Paul works for a large multi-national IT company, and works closely with other areas of public sector on a day-to-day basis. His young family keeps him very busy and he enjoys spending quality time with them. Paul is excited to support the school on its improvement journey and is committed to providing robust challenge and support to the school and trust leadership ensuring that students leave school having achieved excellent progress and the very best outcomes.

IAB members are appointed for a four year term, in line with other governor appointments within the Trust.  It would be expected the IAB be in place for up to 18 – 24 months, with the Trustees having regular reviews to determine when there would be a transition to a Local Governance Committee (LGC), having established a shadow LGC to support the transition period.

Register of Interests 2023-24

Name Role Nature of Interest

Date Interest Registered

Term of Office
Dr Moira Laffey Chair of LGC & Trust Appointed Member TWHF Chair of Larkhill LGC
TWHF Chair of Chairs Trustee


19/04/2024 - 18/04/2028
Sharon Adams Trust Appointed Parent Member Parent of a MOAK student


19/04/2024 - 18/04/2028
Paul Berry  Trust Appointed Member 

Chair or Governors at Shaw CofE Primary School

Employee of CISO Meraki, TWHF is a customer


19/04/2024 - 18/04/2024

Governors Who Left in the Past 12 Months 

David Pafford - Trust Appointed Governor 19/04/2024
Ruth Balnave - Trust Appointed Governor 19/04/2024
Jon Hubbard - Trust Appointed Governor 19/04/2024
Mark Warne - Trust Appointed Governor 19/04/2024
Graeme Harrison - Parent Governor 19/04/2024
Fiona Litman - Staff Governor 19/04/2024
Ruth Perry - Staff Governor 19/04/2024
David Jones – Trust Appointed Governor 09/2023
Alan Henderson – Principal 06/2023

The White Horse Federation Governance Information

Click on the button below to access TWHF governance information, including:

  • Annual report
  • Annual audited accounts
  • Memorandum of association
  • Articles of association
  • Names of charity trustees and members
  • Funding agreement
  • Higher Paid Staff reports



To learn more, visit The White Horse Federation website