Melksham Oak Learning & Education

Key Stage 4

Key Stage 4 Courses

From September 2021, our students will follow a two-year Key Stage 4 curriculum, commencing in Year 10 and culminating in the completion of exams at the end of Year 11.

Our students are provided with considerable individual support to choose the Key Stage 4 exam courses which best suit their skills, interests and ambitions. This includes a Pathways Evening, tutor-time activities and support from our Career Co-ordinator.

At Key Stage 4, all students follow core, compulsory GCSE courses in:

  • English Language;
  • English Literature,
  • Mathematics;
  • Religious Studies
  • At least two Sciences.

All Key Stage 4 students also participate in non-examined Physical Education lessons.

In line with our high ambitions for our students, we are increasingly encouraging more students to study the subjects which will enable them to achieve the academically challenging and well-respected suite of qualifications known collectively as the English Baccalaureate (or EBacc for short).

The subjects which count towards the EBacc are English (Language and Literature), Mathematics, two Sciences, a Modern Foreign Language (French or Spanish) and a Humanity subject (History or Geography) – six specific GCSE qualifications in total.

In addition, students are guided towards an appropriate mix of other optional courses from a range of GCSE and vocational qualifications. These optional courses include:

GCSEs in:

  • Art and Design: Fine Art
  • Business Studies
  • Computer Science
  • Design Technology
  • Drama
  • Food Preparation and Nutrition
  • French
  • Geography
  • History
  • Spanish

Vocational qualifications (e.g. BTECs, or Cambridge Technical Awards) in:

  • Child Development
  • Creative and Digital Media
  • Music
  • Performing Arts
  • Sport Studies

A small number of students who especially benefit from further support with key facilitating skills in literacy and numeracy, take additional Maths and English lessons in place of one exam course.

Further information regarding the Key Stage 4 courses available for can be found below, by following the link called ‘Key Stage 4 Courses’.

Should you have any questions or queries regarding the curriculum, please direct them to Mrs Mel Peeling, Vice Principal, via [email protected]

Key Stage 4 Curriculum Pathways

From September 2020, our Year 9 students commencing their Key Stage 4 courses will follow one of three different curriculum pathways. These are designed to guide students towards the most appropriate and aspirational routes. Each student is designated a pathway based on a combination of their prior achievement and input from teachers/ tutors.

Details of the choice of courses recommended for students following each of these three pathways can be found within the document entitled ‘Pathways 2020’.

From September 2021 onwards, Melksham Oak School will move to a two-year Key Stage 4 curriculum model. This means that students will opt for Key Stage 4 courses when they are in Year 9 and commence them when they begin Year 10.

Register for School Updates

by submitting this form you agree to our privacy policy.

The enquiry could not be sent, please make sure all the fields have been filled.

Thank you for getting in touch.

The White Horse Federation